a | Writer’s cramp. Abnormal clenching of fingers occurs selectively during writing; patient is otherwise normal. b | Fixed dystonic foot posture. c | Dystonia of arm, neck and face, exacerbated during writing. Patient first developed writer’s cramp, but subsequently developed dystonia of the neck (torticollis) and face. d | Involuntary dystonic flexion of trunk and extension of neck (retrocollis) during gait.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE BASICS….Dystonia. Limb dystonia is a cramping and “posturing” of mus­cles. This complication occurs in up to 43 percent of people with young-onset Parkinson’s disease, compared to only 4 percent of people with traditional Parkinson’s disease. Dystonia can become one of the more debilitating aspects of this disease, causing pain and the inability to function normally.

WE ARE TALKING FOOT DYSTONIA. My dystonia has generalized but I have it BAD in my feet. Here is what I have found to kick foot dystonia in the butt. I bought a pair of HARD SOLED slippers 1 size too big. I took 2 cheap pillow cases and cut them to just a little bigger than the slipper. I put a 1/4 inch of plain white rice in the saved (slipper size) bottom part of the pillow case and sewed up the open end. I put the rice pillow bags I made in the microwave for a minute or two, put them in the slippers and stick my feet in (make sure you wear socks). Instant relief, and you can do this as many times as you have to. BONUS: You can wear them outside too, because of the hard soles. : ) Let me know if anyone else tries this, and what your personal experience with it is.

Now, if I could find such simple solutions for the other dystonias and pain issues that effect my quality of life.